A new law five years in the making will ban texting while driving in Florida.
However, it's being called one of the weakest bans in the nation.
Police can't stop you for texting. It's a secondary offense. You have to also have committed another primary violation, like speeding or running a red light.
A first offense will cost you $30 and unless there is a fatal accident or injury, police can't search your phone records.
A second offense will cost you $60 and getting in a crash will add six points to your license.
On Tuesday, Florida will become the 41st state to ban texting while driving but many drivers may not know about the ban in time.
Governor Rick Scott nixed the texting and driving bill's million dollar advertising budget. So the details aren’t really spelled out for drivers.
That's not stopping educators from starting their own campaign to inform students, who happen to be some of the biggest offenders of texting and driving.
Schools in Hillsborough and Pinellas County will begin their no texting and driving campaigns by giving out t-shirts, newsletters and posting notices on school marquees.
People who use Facebook and Twitter, will hear about it too. Some law enforcement agencies are using social media to let people know about the new law.
But don't click, type or search the web for information about the new laws while behind the wheel. It is still legal for drivers to text while at a red light, reporting a crime or if they’re using voice texting app.